The Brow Chakra

Introduction to Chakras
RootSacralSolar PlexusHeartThroatBrowCrown 

In the Brow Chakra (Ājňā Chakra in Sanskrit) the development of our wisdom and humanity is completed and we reach the bridge to Divine Consciousness. It is located at the upper end of the spinal column, at the point of transition from the spine to the brain. Its radiation is, however, primarily perceptible in the centre of the forehead between the eyebrows. Therefore, it is also known as the “Eyebrow Centre” or “Third Eye”. Another expression for the Ājňā Chakra is “Guru Chakra – the Seat of the Master”.

The sixth Chakra rules our intuition and imagination and is associated with the parts of our consciousness concerned with a spiritual view of life. This Chakra is sometimes known as the Home of Spirit, as it has the ability to inform us of the motivation behind actions. Through the sixth Chakra we can observe the outer theater of life from an inner point of view. Inner vision is also ruled by this Chakra. Through meditation upon our Brow Chakra, we can gain great inspiration and the vision of our purpose and destiny.

As the ‘source’ or center of psychic knowledge, this Chakra produces our dreams and fantasies, as well as such advanced psychic states as clairvoyance, telepathy and Spirit communication. These are simply ‘normal’ functions of this powerful Chakra, but anyone unaccustomed to them may find them shocking or a bit frightening, at first. As such, this Chakra is often the source of psychological as well as psychic-phenomena upheavals. While it is easy to understand why some people experiencing their first ‘opening of the Third Eye’ may wonder if they are “losing their mind”, it MAY in fact really mean that the individual is finally FINDING their mind; for all of these psychic traits are simply natural parts of the human experience.

When we enter a dark room for the first time we grope around on the wall with our hand to find the light switch. But when we already know where the switch is it is no longer necessary to search. One flick, the light goes on and we see everything clearly. And in the same way, as soon as the eye of wisdom in the Ājňā Chakra opens, we recognise the essence of truth.

The gifts of clairvoyance, intuition and telepathy lie in the Ājňā Chakra. When we strengthen the power of concentration and learn to perceive all the energy assembled in the Ājňā Chakra, our mind can receive or transmit knowledge through time and space. The function of the Ājňā Chakra is comparable to a searchlight, which can, through the concentration of light, make things visible at a distance. Those whose Ājňā Chakra is opened are at home in all three worlds – past, present and future.

A well-balanced Ājňā Chakra endows the person with a keen observation of thoughts and feelings as also a sense of detachment in thoughts and feelings. There is certain charisma about the person who experiences the positive energy from this Chakra. Additionally, the person embodies qualities of truth, clarity, non-attachment to material possessions, focus, and constancy. The awakening of the Ājňā Chakra is an essential and fundamental step in our development. The abilities that lie in this Chakra help us to cope with all problems and are of great assistance for those people suffering from psychic problems such as depression, Schizophrenia or changeable emotions. Emotions, in themselves, are unbiased. They are a form of energy that can serve us positively or negatively, just as fire can be useful but also destructive. With the assistance of the Ājňā Chakra we can learn to control and guide this inherent energy positively.

When the energy flow in the Chakra faces impediments, then it reflects as non-assertive tendencies, a lack of focus and vision making the person undisciplined, proud and even manipulative. It might lead to distorted opinions about life, and compulsive, obsessive behavior.

brow chakra

Symbol: A circle surrounds the symbols for the first five Chakras. This is not the case with the sixth and seventh Chakras because these two Chakras represent the expansion of our consciousness beyond the confining “circle” of our third dimensional self. The Ājňā centre has two major petals consisting of 48 minor petals each, making 96. It will be noted that the sum total of the force petals in the centres (excluding the two head centres) amount in all to forty-eight petals (Root 4 + Sacral 6 + Solar Plexus 10 + Heart 12 + Throat 16 = 48). These energies in their two aspects of physical vital energy and soul qualities make up the ninety-six aspects or vibrations of the two petals of the Ājňā centre. Suddenly the multiplicity of petals falls away, and you are left with two huge petals. The five centres with their forty-eight petals are synthesised into the two-petalled lotus, and then we have forty-eight plus two equals fifty, the number of the perfected personality, for five is the number of man and ten is that of perfection. Through letting go of your attachment to the multiple distractions of the world, you enter into a Divine relationship with Spirit. This is the center of I, and Thou. The two petals represent the various forms of duality: the ego self, and the spirit self, the reasoning and the intuitive minds, the pineal, and the pituitary, the ida, and the pingala, the masculine, and the feminine.

Color: The color for the brow Chakra is indigo.  Indigo is the symbol of spiritual attainment, self-mastery and wisdom. It aids in the opening of the third eye (inner and outer vision) and opens the doors to the subconscious, so that negative elements can be eliminated and higher elements can be attained. The children being born now are called the “Indigo Children” because they are born with their Third Eye fully opened. It will be our challenge to protect these children from our dangerous world until they are old enough to become our leaders.

Sense: The last two Chakras rule our higher senses. The sixth Chakra rules our higher sense of telepathy, empathy, ESP, and all the other abilities that are latent within the 85% of our brain which we do not normally use.

Element:  The elements for the last two Chakras are also metaphysical, or beyond the physical. The sixth Chakra rules spiritual vision and inner sound, and it is also associated with light.

Consciousness: This Chakra rules the expansion of our third dimensional consciousness to encompass our conscious perception of the fourth dimension. This conscious perception of the fourth dimension means that we remember our inner travels, whether they are through sleep or meditation. It also means that we learn how to integrate the inspiration, illumination and knowledge we have gained into our everyday physical lives.

Until we are capable of anchoring our consciousness in the Ājňā Chakra our mind oscillates constantly between the human Chakras – the Mūlādhāra, Svādhishthāna, Manipūra, Anāhata and Vishuddha. While we are still lacking in discrimination we should listen to the advice of the Master in order to avoid mistakes. Everyone has experienced how painful it can be when we ignore the advice of an experienced person. But the more our consciousness evolves towards the Ājňā Chakra, the freer and more independent we become in choosing correctly and making the right decisions.


Source: &


3 responses to “The Brow Chakra

  1. Pingback: The Pineal Gland | 3rdeyevision·

  2. Pingback: Pineal Gland Metaphysics | 3rdeyevision·

  3. Pingback: Pineal Gland Detox And Activation | 3rdeyevision·

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s