The Heart Chakra

Introduction to Chakras
RootSacralSolar PlexusHeartThroatBrowCrown 

The Anāhata Chakra is one of the most beautiful and richest Chakras, and invites us to dwell longer in its inexhaustible treasures of delightful feelings and experiences. It is located in the region of the heart, in the centre of the chest, and this is why it is also known as the Heart Centre. And it is not without reason that the heart is regarded as the symbol of love, for the Anāhata Chakra is the seat of love.

Just as love is infinite, so also is the Anāhata Chakra. And the extent of the radiance of the Anāhata Chakra depends upon the depths of our relationships. When our heart opens to divine love, our love becomes infinite. We find numerous sayings in general use about the boundless nature of the Anāhata Chakra: “To have a big heart”, “a heart as deep as the ocean” and “to have a place in the heart for everyone”.

Saying “I love you and always think about you” with the intellect only are merely empty words. To really send loving feelings to someone we must open the Heart Chakra and allow love and light to radiate from our inner Self.

The Heart Chakra is the hub of our bodies, the center point where our internal masculine and feminine and our human and divine energies meet. The fourth Chakra rules ALL of our intra- and inter-personal relationships. This Chakra rules our perception of love, our ability to give and receive love from others, our highest essence, and ourselves. Our High Heart rules Unconditional Love and the lower Heart rules human love. It also governs compassion, healing, lungs, breath, and our sense of time, which is tied into the rhythmic cycles of our breath and heart beat.

Our Heart Chakra determines our ability to expand our consciousness. There is no degree of meditation that will access the higher dimensions if we cannot open our hearts to love. Without love we could not travel beyond the Lower Astral Plane and our consciousness would be limited to the separation and limitation represented by our ego self.

Above all else, it is LOVE that allows us to climb the stairs to our observer self and allow true objectivity in our lives. From a perspective of objectivity, we can be free of the desires and passions of everyday life. Then we can be free to find our meaning as we progress through the development of our consciousness from dependent—to independent—to dependable.

When our Heart Chakra is open, our sense of self is not limited to our ego. When we have learned to balance our masculine/feminine and human/divine energies, we expand our SELF from individual consciousness—to family consciousness—to a community consciousness—to national consciousness—to planetary consciousness. Then we are ONE with the Mother, Lady Gaia, and we can realize that whatever we do to another member upon the body of Earth, we do to ourselves.

A well-balanced Anāhata Chakra expresses itself as love, compassion, charity, generosity, beauty, and friendliness. One is inspired to highlight the good in others when the energy levels flow unhindered, that doubly takes care of the related organs and systems. It helps in transcending the ego so that the finer elements of ones personality are manifest. When the energy in the Anāhata Chakra faces blocks and suffers an imbalance, negative feelings of animosity, moodiness, self-pity and indecisiveness prevails.

On one hand we experience delightful, happy feelings in the Anāhata Chakra, but on the other hand it is extremely easy to become unbalanced in this Chakra. If the mind and consciousness are not pure, misleading thoughts and feelings, fixed ideas and complexes that affect us physically and psychically arise in the Anāhata Chakra.

heart chakra

Symbol: This Chakra rules the first of the higher vibrations. There are twelve spokes or petals. The twelve petals depict the twelve most important qualities that we are able to develop in the heart centre: Joy, peace, love, harmony, bliss, clarity, purity, compassion, understanding, forgiveness, patience and kindness. To live with an open, loving heart means to awaken and cultivate these twelve qualities.

In the Anāhata Chakra there are two more important symbols: a six-pointed star together with a new moon. Both relate to the changeability we experience in this Chakra. The six-pointed star is formed by two intersecting triangles. The triangle with the tip pointing upwards symbolises the energy (Shakti) that offers us the possibility of raising our state of consciousness. The inverted triangle implies that we can also very easily slip back into the lower Chakras again from the Heart Chakra. The triangles also highlight the inner battle that takes place within the heart between spirituality and emotion. The moon grows daily until it finally becomes the radiant full moon. In the same way our spiritual development is fostered by our daily practice until one day it achieves perfection. And just as the Lunar phases influence nature and the tides, the feelings within our heart are also subject to constant change; aggression and enthusiasm alternating with kindness, helpfulness and consistency.

Color:  The color for this Chakra is green (and pink for the High Heart).  Green, nature’s color, offers new energy and revitalizes tired nerves. Green is the middle color on the light spectrum and represents healing, growth and health. It symbolizes harmony, creativity, health, abundance and nature. It is the combining of yellow (soul) and blue (spirit). The heart speak to us about fresh new growth, the promise new hope brings, the eternal nature of love and the ability to share that love for the common good.

Sense:  The Heart Chakra rules our sense of touch. Touch is the first intimacy that we know as infants and remains our most powerful unspoken means of communication throughout our lives. Touch can be the most loving or the most fearful means of communication. It is in our hearts that we learn about touch and how we, in turn, wish to touch others.

Element: Air is the element that is ruled by this Chakra. The fourth Chakra also rules our lungs, which is how we bring air—oxygen—into our bodies. The relationship between our lungs and our heart is vital. Without the fresh oxygen that our lungs drive into our hearts, our red blood cells could not carry vital life-force throughout our bodies.  Air forms the basis for movement and expansion and symbolises the breadth and boundlessness of the heart, within which our consciousness is able to expand without restriction.

Consciousness: The fourth Chakra rules our everyday, conscious lives. However, even in the most scientific person, some fourth dimensional aspects of empathy and intuition arise. The Heart Chakra rules our family and community consciousness, and it is through our hearts that we strive for unity consciousness with all life and with Mother Earth Herself.

Our “human love” can often be filled with negativity, fear, hatred and cruelty. However, if we can function from our “High Heart”, our love is Unconditional and we are accepting and free of judgment. It is the challenge of our hearts to connect with and receive the love of our spiritual SELF so that we can heal the harm that others have done to us. Then, from the heart space of healing and self-love, we can love others as well.


Source: &


2 responses to “The Heart Chakra

  1. Pingback: Kaminanda – Gateways Of Consciousness | 3rdeyevision·

  2. Pingback: Welcome to 3rdeyeGeometry! | 3rdeyevision·

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s