The Solar Plexus Chakra

Introduction to Chakras
RootSacralSolar PlexusHeartThroatBrowCrown 

After we have passed through the levels of unconscious and subconscious – the Mūlādhāra Chakra and the Svādishthāna Chakra – our consciousness reaches the third level, the Manipūra Chakra. With the realisation of the Manipūra Chakra the aspirant has reached an important stage on the spiritual path. At the Manipūra Chakra more than of half the journey towards realisation has already been completed. Manipūra Chakra literally means the “City of Jewels”, in which we find the pearls of clarity, wisdom, self-confidence and wellbeing. Their lustre radiates down to the lower Chakras as well as up to the Heart Centre (Anāhata Chakra). The feelings of love and happiness that we feel in our heart actually originate in the Manipūra Chakra and rise from there to the Anāhata Chakra. The positive radiance emanating from the Manipūra Chakra also purifies the Svādhishthāna and Mūlādhāra Chakras and their qualities.

The position of the Manipūra Chakra is in the middle of the abdomen behind the navel; this is why it is also known as the Navel Centre. More precisely speaking, its area of influence radiates out about 7cm above and below the navel. Its counterpart in the body is the Solar Plexus.

In Chakra theory, the first three Chakras are the physical Chakras, and the remaining four the spiritual Chakras. From a practical point of view, the top four deal with being and enacting, while the first three are about interacting with a physical reality.  The third Chakra rules the mental portion of our consciousness and governs thinking, both psychic and intellectual, and the power, control and/or freedom that is gained by our minds. This Chakra is the “power Chakra.” It governs our sense of self, the power that that we have within and over our destinies, the power that we have over others, and the power that others have over us. The projections of our ego and our vital energies are both influenced by this Chakra because it rules how well we can maintain our sense of Self when in a power struggle with another. The battle between egos is difficult to win if we are children and our opponent is our parent. Therefore, this Chakra holds the secrets of the many power struggles that we fought and lost with our parents, and other authority figures, as a child.

If a person is too yin, female energy, then he or she may feel powerless. On the other hand, if a person is too yang, male energy, then he or she may have a tendency to be aggressive or greedy.  The third Chakra, which relates to the liver, gall bladder, stomach, spleen, and pancreas, regulates how centered we feel during the day in relation to our mental facilities and our ability to be self-motivated.

A well-balanced Manipūra Chakra endows the being with inner strength that manifests in the performance of actions with ease and grace. It governs our material well-being and inner peace. The Chakra embodies personal power, self-esteem and energy. If the energy levels in the Chakra suffer an imbalance, the negative energy fuels emotions of jealousy, distrust, ego, anger, fear and anxiety.

solar plexus chakra

Symbol: A symbol of the Manipūra Chakra is the ten-petalled Lotus blossom. The petals represent the ten Prānas (currents and energy vibrations) that are regulated by the Manipūra Chakra. Prāna has two meanings: Firstly, it is the all-pervading energy that fills the entire Universe – the Cosmic Mother who nourishes our soul . Prānic energy streams through all objects and all living beings and is “coloured” by their qualities. The second meaning of Prāna is “God”, or the “Self”. In numerology, the number 10 is reduced to the number 1. Number one symbolizes the beginning, as “In the beginning there was the word,” and every word begins with a thought. Even if it is unconscious, thought precedes communication.

Color: The colour of the Manipūra Chakra is yellow to gold. It has the colour of a pure flame that gives light and energy and removes all pollutants. On one hand, “fire” means aggression, passion, inner heat and restlessness – and on the other hand it means purification and refinement. In the Manipūra Chakra we have the unique opportunity to free ourselves once and for all of bad qualities and habits. When we consign our doubts and weaknesses, such as anger and envy, to the fire of the Manipūra it burns them to ash on the spot. Therefore we should not guide the energy of such emotions to the head or the heart where it causes blockages, tension and pain, but to our inner fireplace.

On a physical level, the color yellow stands for caution. Yellow is between the red of “stop” and the green of “go.” Great caution is needed to integrate our physical and astral selves. The road to spirituality is paved with cautious patience.

Sense: The third Chakra rules our sense of sight. It rules the physical sight of our third dimensional consciousness as well as the “second” sight, or astral vision, of our fourth dimensional consciousness.

Element: The element of the Manipūra Chakra is fire, a symbol for activity and creativity. The Fire Element manifests within the body as body heat. The Manipūra Chakra controls our energy balance and supplies the digestive organs with energy. When it fans and regulates the “digestive fire” it also makes an important contribution to a stable and healthy constitution.

Consciousness: The area of the brain associated with this chakra is the neo cortex, which is the beginning of higher mental functioning. The third Chakra represents our third dimensional consciousness, as well as how our fourth dimensional astral body influences our physical world. If we disallow any conscious influence from our astral self, we limit our reality.


Source: &


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s