The Sacral Chakra

Introduction to Chakras
RootSacralSolar PlexusHeartThroatBrowCrown 

The Sacral Chakra (Svādhishthāna Chakra in Sanskrit) lies about three centimetres above the Mūlādhāra Chakra between the coccyx and the sacrum, hence the name. It marks the second stage of human evolvement. The level of consciousness of the Svādhishthāna Chakra is the subconcious, the sphere of consciousness that lies between sleeping and waking. We have a vague idea of what is contained here, but no complete or clear knowledge. Even when our consciousness is centred, other levels of consciousness always influence our perceptions and actions.

The second Chakra is located at the navel. The navel was once our umbilical cord that was our attachment to our first physical home, our mother and the nurturing that she provided. The second Chakra also represents our attachment to Mother Earth as well as all the plants and creatures that call Her home.

This is the Chakra of creativity, pure attention and pure knowledge. It is the one which connects us to the inner source of inspiration, and enables us to experience the beauty around us. The pure knowledge given by this Chakra is not mental, but it is direct perception of the Reality, that can be felt in our palms and indicates our subtle blockages. Also this is the center of pure, steady attention and power of concentration. This Chakra governs sexuality, reproduction, emotions, instincts, food, and general communication of the body with the consciousness that lives inside it. The second Chakra rules the feminine component of sexuality, whereas the first Chakra rules the masculine component of sexuality.

Besides reproduction, the second Chakra also governs other kinds of creativity. Swimming, hiking, and gardening make use of the second Chakra’s connection to nature. Sculpting and carving use materials and objects of nature as a medium, and nature is often the “subject” of painters and photographers. Like the first Chakra, the second Chakra also governs survival, but from the perspective of the feminine polarity. The first Chakra governs the fight for survival, whereas the second Chakra rules the instincts for survival. The first Chakra would urge us to battle for and protect, whereas the second Chakra would aid us in using our instincts to find a safe place to hide, to live, and to rear our young.

A well-balanced Svādhishthāna Chakra ensures vitality. The balance achieved in this energy center pervades the being, making the person an extrovert, patient, and positive, with an ability to enjoy life in all its fullness. This Chakra also endows the being with divine traits of mercy, forgiveness, warmth and compassion. When the energy levels within the Chakra suffer an imbalance, a lot of negative energy pervades the being, marked by an unforgiving nature, intolerance, and over ambition that can even border around manipulative tendencies. This energy center gets fatigued by excessive thinking, which can also harm the liver.


Symbol: This Chakra has six petals or spokes. In numerology, six is the number that represents responsibility and nurturing for family and community as well as finding balance and harmony with our environment, and it also symbolizes the six obstacles on the path of development: anger, hate, greed, jealousy, cruelty and laziness. Another symbol for the Sacral Chakra is a half moon, which represents feelings, tides and female cycle.

Color: The color of the Svādhishthāna Chakra is orange, the color of fire. This color symbolises purification, activity, joy, hope and self-confidence, and shows that the energy of the Svādhishthāna Chakra has become active. Orange is also the color of sunrise and is an indication of the strength that blossoms from this Chakra once it has been mastered – cheerfulness, faith, self-confidence and vigour. It is also the color of autumn and sunset, when nature withdraws and consciousness turns inwards. When we look within and concentrate on the Svādhishthāna Chakra we are able to find the answers to many questions related to our destiny.

Sense: The sense of taste is related to this Chakra. The sense of taste is important for identification of edible vs. non-edible food and for the enjoyment of eating, which is also ruled by the second Chakra. Taste is a very emotional experience and is the basis for the nurturing and comfort that eating provides. Eating, more specifically suckling, forms the important first bond between mother and child and serves as comfort as well as nutrition.

Element: The element of the Svādhishthāna Chakra is water. Water is very soft and yielding, and because of this it is especially difficult to bring it under control. As water is so difficult to contain, it is also difficult to counteract. Flowing water has an immense power. If a dam bursts the mass of water carves its own channel and nothing can stop it. Even if we firmly close the doors and windows the water will inevitably force its way into the house. Our first physical home in the amniotic sac was one of water. This Chakra reflects how we feel about being in or near the water. Psychologically, water is the metaphor and symbol for emotion. The second Chakra deals with “gut instincts,” basic emotions such as fear, rage, and joy and basic interpersonal emotions that are often unspoken.

The second Chakra also rules the kidneys, which is where we eliminate our water. This Chakra rules our second dimensional self, which is represented by the plant kingdom and less evolved creatures such as fish. Both plants and fish must have water to survive.

Consciousness: The second Chakra depicts our emotional consciousness, our “animal instincts” and our tribal consciousness. This Chakra represents the mammalian portion of our brain where the limbic system rules our emotions and short-term memory. The limbic system is an important center for creativity and learning because it is where emotion and memory combine. We all know that it is easier to learn when we are emotionally engaged than when we are bored. Also, a deeply loving experience is usually imprinted in our conscious mind. However, an extremely frightening experience is often banished to our unconscious mind, as the memory of it is too painful.


Source: &


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s