Chakras (Introduction)

Throughout our body we have main energy centers, which are connected to major organs or glands that govern other body parts. Each of these main energy centers are referred to as Chakra. The word Chakra derives from the Sanskrit word for “wheel” or “turning”. A Chakra is a wheel-like spinning vortex that whirls in a circular motion forming a vacuum in the center that draws in anything it encounters on its particular vibratory level, from color vibration to microwaves to energy, including emotions of the people we are in contact with (that’s why other people’s moods have an effect on us!). In essence our Chakras receive the health of our environment, and as well our Chakras also radiate an energy of vibration. The Chakras correlate to levels of consciousness, body functions, colors, elements, sounds, and much more.

It is said that our body contains hundred of Chakras and that there are seven main Chakra centers, each of which is connected to our being on several different levels: physical, emotional, mental and spiritual. On the physical level each Chakra governs a main organ or gland, which is then connected to other body parts that resonate the same frequency. Every organ, gland and body system is connected to a Chakra and each Chakra is connected to a color vibrational frequency. For example, the heart Chakra governs the thymus gland and it is also in charge of the functioning of the heart organ, lungs, bronchia system, lymph glands, secondary circulatory system, immune system as well as the arm and hands. And the heart Chakra resonates to the color green.

The seven main Chakra centers are located are located either along, or just in front of, the spinal column following a central energy line called the Sushumna. If there are disturbances on any level, this shows in the Chakra’s vitality level. Also each of the seven main Chakras is their own intelligence center. This means that each Chakra is not only associated with our physical health but also controls aspects connected to our emotional, mental and belief system.


The Chakras can have various levels of activity. When they’re “open,” they’re considered operative in a normal fashion.  Ideally, all Chakras would contribute to our being. Our instincts would work together with our feelings and thinking. However, this is usually not the case. Some Chakras are not open enough (being under-active), and to compensate, other Chakras are over-active. The ideal state is where the Chakras are balanced. To help balance a Chakra –whether on an emotional, intellectual, physical or spiritual level– we need to bring in the Chakra (color) vibration, which resonates at the same frequency. When one part of a Chakra center is out of sync it may eventually affect its other parts and possibly its neighboring Chakra. When a Chakra center is out of balance it generally means that it is over-active or under-active, or possibly congested or blocked. If this happens it is usually felt on a mental, emotional or physical level.

It is also important to understand the basics of light and color to understand Chakras. Visible light is electromagnetic radiation that is visible to the human eye, and is responsible for the sense of sight. The Sun is Earth’s primary source of light, and about 44% of the sun’s electromagnetic radiation that reaches the ground is in the visible light range. Electromagnetic radiation is characterized by its wavelength (or frequency) and its intensity. When the wavelength is within the visible spectrum (the range of wavelengths humans can perceive, approximately from 390 nm to 750 nm), it is known as “visible light”. The familiar colors of the rainbow in the spectrum  include all those colors that can be produced by visible light of a single wavelength only, the pure spectral or monochromatic colors. By holding a prism towards the sun, we can break down the visible spectrum of light rays into seven different beams of color. Light consists of the seven color energies: red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet. We can see these seven colors in a rainbow, drop of rain or dew and even in a snowflake.


Color and light are inseparable. Each color of the visible light rays has a different wavelength and vibrational frequency, which affects us differently. Red has the longest wavelength and the slowest vibrational frequency, which we innately recognize as warm and stimulating. Whereas, violet has the shortest wavelength and the fastest frequency that we recognize as a cool and calming energy. Many body functions are stimulated or retarded by light and the different colors of light and thus affect our Chakra system.

Little is known and understood about the human psyche and its intricate systems. However, medical science has proven that toxins and other impurities, which include negative thoughts, chemical enhancements in our food and other poor environmental factors, influence our body. Constant forms of “pollution” can cause Chakra imbalances to manifest, which may eventually affect us on a physical level. Since traditional health care systems at this time are unable to naturally or totally alleviate symptoms or cure our problems, this means it is up to each individual to improve their health conditions. We also have to consider that we may be our own best doctor. So understanding the Chakra system is more about how you can help improve your own state of health and all levels of your being.

The benefit of learning about your own Chakra system is for you to understand on a whole (whole = body, mind and spirit in harmony) that when all parts of you (all of your seven Chakra centers) are communicating equally and working in alliance with each other, you will have little or no energy disorders. For example, if the mental part of you is powerful and so are the physical, emotional and spiritual parts of you equally as strong, it is then that you feel at your optimum level. Similar to how your body functions automatically, your Chakra centers also operate automatically. If you are to understand your Chakra system then you must learn what each Chakra’s function is and how it represents a part of your “whole.”

The seven major Chakras are the Root Chakra (red), at the base of the spine, the Sacral Chakra (orange), below the navel, the Solar Plexus Chakra (yellow), at the upper abdomen, the Heart Chakra (green), at the chest, the Throat Chakra (blue), in the middle of the neck, the Brow Chakra, or Third Eye (indigo), on the forehead, and the Crown Chakra (violet/white), slightly above the head.


We will deeply analyze each one of them in following articles. Stay tuned!

Sources: & Chakra Energy.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s